Charnwood Grenadiers – more recruits!

Charnwood Grenadiers – more recruits!

Slowly but surely the Duke’s elite Charnwood Grenadiers regiment expands up to full strength. The sculpting of these figures make for a pleasurable painting experience. At present, I am only painting these figures when I get some spare time from my more usual 1/72 scale figures and when the mood takes me. I’ve said it before, The Duchy of Charnwood is a slow burn project! I have about 8 figures remaining before I move on to the next regiment; the Swithland Fusiliers.

One of the enjoyable aspects of painting these figures is the details and expressions on the faces of the figures, making it a regiment of individuals rather than identical copies of one template.

Charnwood Grenadiers (1)

Charnwood Grenadiers (12)

One of the figures is an officer. So allow me to introduce to you Captain Edward Carillon of the Charnwood Grenadiers. He wears a gorget (a crescent-shaped sign of rank beneath his neck), and a red sash about his waist. Unlike his grenadier cap wearing men, Captain Carillon also wears a tricorn hat and an expensive pair of knee-length boots. I like his features which suggest an unflappable presence on the battlefield, perhaps tainted however by a certain world-weary cynicism?

Also making an appearance is this axe-wielding maniac. I believe that he represents what is known as a pioneer sergeant. He wears a stout apron and carries an axe, he marches at the head of his company ostensibly to clear a path for all who follows. The apron serves to protect the pioneer sergeant’s uniform from the vicissitudes of hacking people to pieces. Again, one can see a ‘robust’ personality in his ‘resolute’ features. I for one wouldn’t dare describe him as murderously psychotic.

I’ve also painted this fellow below who appears to be carrying a very long halberd or pike. He’s actually missing a flag! I intend to add his standard shortly as soon as I’ve worked out what kind of flag I’m going to put on it.

Charnwood Grenadiers (9)

Finishing this batch of figures has given me the impetus to polish off the remainder of the regiment, so watch this space!

Charnwood Grenadiers (4)
The Charnwood Grenadiers
Leave a Reply

